Lubbock Moms: 2020 Candidate Ballot


This is the general 2020 Candidate Ballot that you will see this November (based on your address, it will be more specific). The local Lubbock elections that were postponed from May 2020 to November 2020 are also included at the end of the list (and are also address specific, so make sure you look your sample ballot up!). Be prepared to spend more time voting this year – there are more than the usual amount of decisions to make. We encourage you to click each link and research about each candidate in order to be an informed voter. For each listing, you will see the corresponding party and link to their website.

To obtain your personal sample ballot (including additional propositions, school board information, etc), print it out, fill it out, and take it with you, check here:


***All information is publicly available and was compiled based on these three resources:


President & Vice President

Donald J. Trump & Mike Pence Republican
Joseph R. Biden & Kamala D. Harris Democratic
Jo Jorgensen & Jeremy “Spike” Cohen Libertarian
Howie Hawkins & Angela Walker Green


U.S. Senator

John Cornyn Republican
Mary “MJ” Hegar Democratic
Kerry Douglas McKennon Libertarian
David B. Collins Green


U.S. Representative District 19

Jodey C. Arrington Republican
Tom Watson Democratic
Joe Burnes Libertarian ***


Railroad Commissioner

James “Jim” Wright Republican
Chrysta Castañeda Democratic
Matt Sterett Libertarian
Katija “Kat” Gruene Green


Chief Justice, Supreme Court

Nathan Hecht Republican
Amy Clark Meachum Democratic
Mark Ash Libertarian


Justice, Supreme Court, Place 6 – Unexpired Term

Jane Bland Republican
Kathy Cheng Democratic


Justice, Supreme Court, Place 7

Jeff Boyd Republican
Staci Williams Democratic
William Bryan Strange III Libertarian ***


Justice, Supreme Court, Place 8

Brett Busby Republican
Gisela D. Triana Democratic
Tom Oxford Libertarian ***


Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals Place 3

Bert Richardson Republican
Elizabeth Davis Frizell Democratic


Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals Place 4

Kevin Patrick Yeary Republican
Tina Clinton Democratic


Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals Place 9

David Newell Republican
Brandon Birmingham Democratic


Member, State Board of Education, District 15

Jay Johnson Republican ***
John Betancourt Democratic


State Senator, District 28

Charles Perry Republican


State Representative District 83

Dustin Burrows Republican
Addison Perry-Franks Democratic


State Representative District 84

John Frullo Republican
John Gibson Democratic


Chief Justice, 7th Court of Appeals District

Brian Quinn Republican ***


Justice, 7th Court of Appeals District, Place 4 – Unexpired Term

Larry Doss Republican


District Judge, 72nd Judicial District

Ruben G. Reyes Republican ***


District Judge, 99th Judicial District

Phillip Hays Republican


District Judge, 140th Judicial District

Douglas Freitag Republican



Kelly S. Rowe Republican ***


County Tax Assessor-Collector

Ronnie Keister Republican ***


County Commissioner Precinct 1

Terence Kovar Republican


County Commissioner Precinct 3

Cary W. Shaw Republican
Gilbert Flores Democratic


County Constable Precinct 1

Paul Hanna Republican ***


County Constable Precinct 2

Jody Barnes Republican


County Constable Precinct 3

Marina Garcia Democratic ***


County Constable Precinct 4

Tony Jackson Republican ***


Lubbock Mayor (At Large)

Dan Pope
Stephen Sanders


City Council Member, District 2

Sheila Patterson Harris   ***
Gordon Harris   ***


City Council Member, District 4

Steve Massengale   ***


City Council Member, District 6

Latrelle Joy   ***
Kaylon Dean Northcutt   ***


Municipal Court Judge (At Large)

Jorge E. Hernandez   ***